Lewis Hamilton: How Keeping it Simple Makes Me Faster


Lewis Hamilton talking about simplicity and speed in his column at BBC. An excerpt:

The first time I sat in the cockpit I thought the steering wheel was way too complex.There were 26 switches and buttons, compared to my previous steering wheel, which might have had about 10.

I was thinking: “Jeez, when am I ever going to get on top of all this?” And then my next question was: “What do I need out of all the stuff you’re providing me with, and what can I do without?”

(…)

When I’m driving, the fewer distractions there are, the better it is to focus on the job in hand.

I think that the same principle can be applied to Project Management field: be focused on the job in hand; keep things simple and avoid any kind of distraction. If you can do it, you’ll be able to pursue the excellence in your outcomes and, obviously, be a better project manager. Start right now!

One thought on “Lewis Hamilton: How Keeping it Simple Makes Me Faster

  1. Pingback: The Best of March 2013 | Nelson Biagio Jr

Leave a Reply

