A Quiet Hero Profile


Cultural Offering has a great profile for some kind of hero. A sample:

I don’t know how many signs I scraped and painted but it seemed like too many.  As I worked on the side of the building, he popped out to check on progress and talk with me. . .about school and interests.  But the thing I noticed was that he didn’t talk down to me.  He spoke as though I were someone important.  High school students notice that kind of thing.

Once the project was complete I would get calls from time to time.  “The sidewalk in front of the office is a mess.  Would you be willing to clean the weeds up.”  “Could you mow a yard for me?”  All through high school I learned how to perform a variety of jobs thanks to Pat Guanciale.

Leave a Reply

