Four short links: 23 May 2011*


  1. Project Management: Four Problems to Avoid – It is important that you never trust to luck when you plan a project. Hope is not a strategy. Remember the words of Napoleon, when he was asked if he believed in luck. He said, “Yes, I believe in luck. I believe in bad luck. And I believe that I will always have it, so I plan accordingly.”
  2. Travel Planning with Microsoft OneNote – I travel a fair amount and I’m always looking for a good way to organize everything I need when I go – I use services like TripIt and Dopplr but think I may have found another tool to add to my kit bag – using OneNote to create a TripBook.
  3. A new appreciation of security theater – The WSJ reported recently that the FBI, looking for fresh leads in the 1982 case of Tylenol poisonings, suspects Ted “Unabomber” Kaczynski and is trying to get hold of a sample of his DNA. Coincidentally I was just thinking about that case thanks to Bruce Schneier.
  4. Are You Talking Yourself Into Failure? – A couple of days ago I watched a fascinating You Tube clip about mantras. Mantras are the things you say to yourself in your head, over and over again – and they have the power to impact how you feel and act in the short term, which ultimately impacts how your life turns out in the long run.

*Original format by O’Reilly Radar

Leave a Reply

